Geraniums

A forum dedicated to perennials, the ornamental plants that last from year to year adding colour, shape and fragrance to the garden.

Moderators: Forum_mod, Pam, Luzy, Bulbinella

Geraniums

Postby katharine » Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:17 pm

I was wondering if anyone in the Mackay area shares my passion for Geraniums.

We are lucky in Mackay,a few kilometres north and it becomes a lot warmer and more humid.
I live inland from Mackay, although warmer during the hot months it is a lot less humid.

I would love to hear from anyone as I am new to this addictive habit called gardening.
Kind regards
katharine
Lawn trimmer

geraniums

Postby Marilyn » Fri Dec 02, 2005 3:10 pm

Hi. I live in central qld too. I love the ivies and grow them in large terracotta pots. I feed regularly and give them a dose of anti rot if they have been wet for awhile. They always seem to be flowering as long as I remember to feed them. They are my favourite pot plants as they can bear the heat.
Marilyn
Propagator

geraniums

Postby katharine » Fri Dec 02, 2005 3:27 pm

I have lost a few since my last post.
Root Rot, but not from overwater,just the humidity.
I have found a very hardy beautiful double in a garden in Brisbane.
I took a cutting and bingo nothing seems to kill it. :D
katharine
Lawn trimmer

Postby Marilyn » Fri Dec 02, 2005 3:48 pm

This is my first day on this forum site and you replied straight away! Have no idea what I am doing but will go with the flow. First - I am sorry to hear you have lost some of your geraniums. It is probably too dry where I am to have that trouble but I appreciate how maddening/disappointing it is to lose a plant - especially a favourite. I spray anything prone to mildew in my garden regularly with diluted milk. Works. Only thing I can suggest other than that is not to water overhead but you probably know that already. I never prune during the summer either, no matter how tempted. Hope that helps. Good luck and keep me posted.
Marilyn
Propagator