Tasmanian Myrtle Queerie?

A forum dedicated to bonsai, the art of growing dwarfed, ornamentally shaped trees or shrubs in small shallow containers.

Moderators: Forum_mod, Pam, taffyman, DrDuncs

Tasmanian Myrtle Queerie?

Postby Misty Fields » Tue Apr 29, 2008 11:22 pm

I have a tasmanian myrtle ( nothofagus Cunninghamii) its about 10yrs old and stands about 8ft in a large pot.
When is the best time to repot it and how far can I trim the roots back??
Also would it be possible to cut back to make into a bonsai from such a large tree and how would I go about it??
I have not attempted such a large tree before to train into a bonsai, I am self taught.
Misty Fields
Misty Fields
Head Gardener

Re: Tasmanian Myrtle Queerie?

Postby Mister Wisteria » Wed Apr 30, 2008 11:35 am

Can't help you with your problem but I'm sure some one will be able to, welcome to the Forum. :D
Slip Slop & Slap and Don't Forget Your Hat.

Anti Skin Cancer Foundation.
Mister Wisteria
Garden Wizard

Postby The Estate » Wed Apr 30, 2008 12:09 pm

Taffy would have your answer, any chance if a pic so he can help you :?:
The Estate
Garden Wizard

Postby Misty Fields » Wed Apr 30, 2008 3:28 pm

Hi all Misty Fields here again, with possibly a photo of my Myrtle Tree if I can figure out how to add an attachment :-?
Hope it will work.
Maybe someone can help me out with my previous question.
Myrtle Beech.jpg
Myrtle Beech
Myrtle Beech.jpg (77.6 KiB) Viewed 7514 times
Misty Fields
Head Gardener

Postby taffyman » Wed Apr 30, 2008 4:42 pm