new to bonsai

A forum dedicated to bonsai, the art of growing dwarfed, ornamentally shaped trees or shrubs in small shallow containers.

Moderators: Forum_mod, Pam, taffyman, DrDuncs

new to bonsai

Postby danandem » Fri Dec 05, 2008 8:17 pm

Hi everyone,
Im new to bonsai and am about to purchase my first tree, im tied up between 2, a corky bark chine elm, and a juniper. Both are already established bonsai trees. I prefer the elm, but maybe the juniper is easier to look after. if anyone could give me some care instructions for the trees as well as hints as to wich would be better that would be great. i live up in MT Isa QLD so it gets hot days so im guessing i would have to keep them in the shade, they seem to be growing at the nursery ok tho. any help would be very much appreciated.
Kind regards Dan
danandem
Apprentice

Re: new to bonsai

Postby taffyman » Fri Dec 05, 2008 9:55 pm

Hi Dan, welcome to the forum - and welcome to the great world of Bonsai.
With Mt Isa having temps way up in the 40's at times, I'd suggest the Juniper would be the better choice. Junipers can take more 'drying out' than Chinese Elms. The elms need to be constantly moist (not wet, just moist). In full sun, I'd suggest the leaves on the Chinese Elm may burn and curl up - they couldn't take 40+ degrees for too long.
When you say they are both established Bonsai, do you mean they've been in Mt Isa for some time (were they grown there)? A lot of nurseries will import material from the southern areas which will suffer greatly in your climate over a short time. Another thing you need to look at is where they are situated in the nursery. Things like: Are they under shade, do they get shade for part of the day, are they watered regularly (is the soil mix damp to the touch). Those sorts of things will determine the water requirements and where you will need to keep the one you ultimately buy.