Fig on a rock.

A forum dedicated to bonsai, the art of growing dwarfed, ornamentally shaped trees or shrubs in small shallow containers.

Moderators: Forum_mod, Pam, taffyman, DrDuncs

Fig on a rock.

Postby Undergrounder » Sun Dec 28, 2008 11:19 pm

Hi

I got this bonsai for Christmas, it's a fig as you can see. It's my first real bonsai (i have another bonsai-in-waiting fig), and I'm totally new to bonsai and need someone to tell me what i should do with it? Should i just let it grow or keep shaping it as it grows? I was thinking of trying to stimulate more roots around the rock, and wire out the branches to give it more width for a start. Not sure if i should be trimming or cutting new growth, or whether i should be letting it grow? help me out!

It's hard to see the main branches but they're kind of running parallel to the trunk, should i wire them more perpendicular?

thanks, Nick.

Image Image Image
Undergrounder
Head Gardener

Re: Fig on a rock.

Postby lmrk » Mon Dec 29, 2008 2:44 pm

AND SO IT BEGINS!!!!!!!!!!!!! * grins and waves wildly to Nick* . Glad to see you have jumped on the bonsai bandwagon Nick!!!! You will soon feel the addiction (Y) (Y) (Y) Will let Sensei's Taffyman and Eric give you advice. Know nothing about things over rocks!! :oops:
Does a watched bonsai ever grow?
lmrk
Curator

Postby Undergrounder » Mon Dec 29, 2008 9:41 pm

No this is my ONLY bonsai Leah (apart from the other one), i will NEVER get another one! I was able to resist getting more than one orchid, more than one cactus, more than one bulb, i'm sure i won't need to get any more bonsai..

i know it...

I think i might go to the bonsai nursery next week just to have a look at them though.. just so i know how to handle this one better. Really.
Undergrounder
Head Gardener

Postby taffyman » Mon Dec 29, 2008 11:31 pm