Manchurian Pear - Help!

A Forum for discussion of non-native trees and shrubs. Topics related to trees and shrubs normally used to provide fruit should be posted under 'Fruit & Produce' Forum. (Where known, topics related to Australian native trees and shrubs should be posted in that Forum).

Moderators: Forum_mod, Pam, Sam, enrico, Shotgun Paul.

Manchurian Pear - Help!

Postby rebecca6k6 » Wed Dec 17, 2008 4:59 pm

Hi all,
Im a newbie so hoping I am getting this in the right area.

I have just recently bought and planted two manchurian pear trees in my back yard. They are of decent height and when I bought them they were a lovely dark green colour. However in just 2 weeks they seem to be turning yellow and some of the leaves are either falling of or curled into itself. They do get some wind, but not a lot and I have been watering them everyday.

I have attached 2 pictures to explain more what I mean

What can I do to save these trees, I really dont want them to die on me!

DSC06324.JPG

DSC06326.JPG

Rebecca
rebecca6k6
Lawn trimmer

Re: Manchurian Pear - Help!

Postby guzzigirl » Wed Dec 17, 2008 5:10 pm

I'm wondering if you are over watering them. Are you checking the soil to see if it needs the water first? If the soil is still moist then adding more water risks drowning the roots. The way those leaves look with the ends going dead suggests that to me. It is best to give them a deep watering and then letting the soil dry out a bit before watering again. Roots need air as well as water.

To help with the diagnosis though it would help if you let us know whereabouts you live for climate conditions, and what you did to prepare the site for planting your trees, did you add fertilisers or other additives. Also what type of soil do you have, sandy or clay or something in between.
“Although you’ll find our house a mess, come in, sit down, converse…
It doesn’t always look like this! Sometimes it’s even worse!”
guzzigirl
Garden Wizard